How do I give a customer the option to pay now OR pay later?

Dear all,

I am a newbie with PaperForm.

I have a registration form for a workshop with payments. I read the docs and found this article Pay now or Pay Later

From my understanding of this solution, we have to make 3 forms for what I want to achieve.

• The initial form with Yes/No question for payment by Card to direct the registrants
  • The Card payment form with Stripe Card gateway
  • The Cash payment form without Card payment after submission.

Do we have any better ideas to make it works within only one form? hidden field or something?

Thanks so much for all the ideas support.
Kind regards,
Quang

2 Likes

Hi Quang,

To accept either cash or electronic payment this is really your best option. One alternative would be to apply a 100% discount to the form if the user selected to pay by cash but this would require recalculating the total somehow to know what to charge them when they do pay.

Josh

1 Like

Thanks Josh. Trying to finalise the form. I want to make the form as its best, due to our registrants are all professional scientists!

Hey, @quang.

You actually can do this in one form. It’s a bit of work and is significantly more work if you have a lot of products, but it works all in one form.

We’ll need two (2) calculations:

• total
  • set_price

total

We’re going to add up all the products and their quantities (even the ones with 0 selected). The way to do this is illustrated in the Calculate our own subtotal section in this how-to:

Similarly, we’re then going to add a custom pricing rule that subtracts that amount from the price when it’s answered. This gives us more freedom in dictating how pricing will work on the form.

set_price

This is almost the exact same calculation as above, so you can just duplicate the calculation to save yourself the work.